Our annual general meeting (AGM) will be taking place at 7pm on Tuesday the 15th March, at Little Saint Mary’s parish centre.

Election Information and Rules

  • The Returning Officers for the election are Laura Ryan, outgoing chair and Freddie Poser, ex-chair in statu pupillary.
  • The committee will be elected at the AGM taking place at 7pm Tuesday 15th March at Little Saint Mary’s Church.
  • This election will use a single transferable vote method, with a re-open nominations option using an electronic voting method. If the wifi at LSM can’t support our voting system, we’ll use paper ballots instead.
  • Absentee ballots can be requested from the Returning Officers no later than 24 hours before the meeting (7pm on Monday 14th). These will generally only be accepted for commitments that cannot be reasonably moved, or for those who are not in Cambridge.
  • In the case of emergencies, applications to vote by absentee ballot may be accepted at any time before the start of the election – this is entirely at the discretion of the ROs.
  • Once you have registered your desire for an absentee ballot, you will need to indicate your intended votes for each position after the list of candidates is released on Monday morning, and no later than the start of the AGM on Tuesday. There will be no proxy votes available in this election.
  • All life members are eligible to vote in these elections provided they are a member of the Association (though not necessarily of the Party) by 7am on Monday 14th.
  • Any violation of UK electoral law is not permitted, and other unwanted behaviours or behaviours not within the spirit of the election, but not covered by UK law, will be dealt with at the discretion of the Returning Officers. Let’s keep CULA elections toxicity-free please!

Information for candidates

  • Members will be allowed to stand for up to three committee positions, in descending order (the order of precedence will be explained below). If a candidate is elected to one before we have come to the other elections, then they will be eliminated as a candidate those subsequent positions.
  • To be a candidate you must email the Returning Officers (see above) by 7am on Monday 14th, outlining for which positions you intend to stand. This is the absolute final deadline for candidacies. You do not require anyone to nominate you to be able stand.
  • Candidates may write manifestos (which should be emailed to the Returning Officers alongside their announcement of their candidacy), but manifestos are only compulsory for candidates for the position of Chair. Manifestos must not run to more than one side of A4, and should not include endorsements.
  • At the AGM there will be a hustings in which candidates should make a brief statement of no more than 30 seconds (1 minute in the case of the position of Chair) explaining their reasons for standing and their aims for their time in the role.

The order of precedence of positions is as follows:

  • Chair
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Women’s/NB Officer
  • Campaigns Officer
  • Social Events Officer
  • Speaker Events Officer
  • Membership Development and Alumni Officer
  • Communications Officer